Jump directly to page content

Organs of the Trust

SWP Council

The SWP Council (Stiftungsrat) is SWP's highest supervisory and decision-making body. It comprises a President, two Deputy Presidents (one of whom is the Head of the Federal Chancellery), members nominated by the parliamentary groups in the Bundestag, members nominated by the Head of the Federal Chancellery, and leading academics, businesspeople and public figures. All members of the Council serve in an honorary capacity. The Council appoints the Institute's management, approves broad outlines for its research and guarantees its independence.


Dr. Nikolaus von Bomhard, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Munich Reinsurance Company

Deputy Presidents:

Prof. Dr. Helge Braun, Head of the Federal Chancellery
Prof. Dr. Angelika Niebler, Member of the European Parliament


Susanne Burger, Federal Ministry of Education and Research
Prof. Dr. Christopher Daase, Goethe University Frankfurt am Main
Sevim Dağdelen, Member of the German Bundestag
Prof. Dr. Dr. Udo Di Fabio, University of Bonn
Franz Fehrenbach, Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Robert Bosch GmbH
Jürgen Hardt, Member of the German Bundestag
Dr. Jan Hecker †, Federal Chancellery
Martin Jäger, State Secretary, Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development
Prof. Dr. Dieter Kempf, President of The Federation of German Industries (BDI)
Dr. Markus Kerber, State Secretary, Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community
Prof. Dr. Sabine Kunst, President of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Alexander Graf Lambsdorff, Member of the German Bundestag
Antje Leendertse, State Secretary, Federal Foreign Office
Omid Nouripour, Member of the German Bundestag
Jan Rinnert, Chairman of the Management Board and CEO of Heraeus Holding GmbH
Nils Schmid, Member of the German Bundestag
Wolfgang Schmidt, State Secretary, Federal Ministry of Finance
Dr. Kirsten Scholl, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy
Dr. Detlef Wächter, Federal Ministry of Defence
Volker Wieker, General ret
Prof. Dr. Margret Wintermantel



The Board comprises a Chair, a Deputy Chair and one other member. Board members are appointed by two-thirds majority of members of the Council. The Board represents the Foundation in and out of court through any two of its members. The Chair is the Director of the Institute, and is supported in that capacity by three Deputy Directors (Executive Board).

Dr. Stefan Mair, Chairman
Prof. Dr. Gudrun Krämer, Berlin
Prof. Dr. Silvia von Steinsdorff, Berlin

Research Advisory Board

The Research Advisory Board advises the Institute on all topical and interdisciplinary questions related to its research programme. It is appointed by the SWP Council in consultation with the Executive Board.

President: Prof. Dr. Christopher Daase, Johann Wolfgang Goethe University Frankfurt am Main

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Bonacker, University of Marburg, Center for Conflict Studies

Prof. Dr. Anna Geis, Helmut Schmidt University of the German Bundeswehr, Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Robin Geiß, United Nations, Institute for Disarmament Research, Genève

Prof. Dr. Sieglinde Gstöhl, College of Europe, Brügge

Prof. Michael C. Kimmage, The Catholic University of America

Prof. Dr. Henning Lobin, Institute for the German Language (IDS), Mannheim

Prof. Dr. Anne Peters, Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, Heidelberg

Prof. Dr. Shalini Randeria, CEU Central European University, Wien

Prof. Dr. Markus Taube, University of Duisburg-Essen