Organs of the Trust

SWP Council

The SWP Council (Stiftungsrat) is SWP's highest supervisory and decision-making body. It comprises a President, two Deputy Presidents (one of whom is the Head of the Federal Chancellery), members nominated by the parliamentary groups in the Bundestag, members nominated by the Head of the Federal Chancellery, and leading academics, businesspeople and public figures. All members of the Council serve in an honorary capacity. The Council appoints the Institute's management, approves broad outlines for its research and guarantees its independence.


Dr. Nikolaus von Bomhard, Supervisory Board Chairman, Deutsche Post

Deputy Presidents:

Prof. Dr. Helge Braun, Chief-of-Staff, Federal Chancellery
Prof. Dr. Angelika Niebler, Member of the European Parliament


Susanne Burger, Federal Ministry of Education and Research
Prof. Dr. Christopher Daase, Goethe University Frankfurt am Main
Sevim Dağdelen, MdB
Prof. Dr. Dr. Udo Di Fabio, University of Bonn
Franz Fehrenbach, Supervisory Board Chairman, Robert Bosch GmbH
Jürgen Fitschen, Supervisory Board Chairman, Vonovia SE
Dr. Géza Andreas von Geyr, Federal Ministry of Defence
Jürgen Hardt, Member of the German Bundestag
Dr. Jan Hecker, Federal Chancellery
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Ischinger, Chairman of the Munich Security Conference
State Secretary Martin Jäger, Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development
State Secretary Dr. Markus Kerber, Federal Ministry of the Interior
Alexander Graf Lambsdorff, Member of the German Bundestag
Karl-Heinz Lather, General ret.
Antje Leendertse, Federal Foreign Office
Prof. Dr. Eckard Minx, Chairman of the Board of the Daimler and Benz Foundation, Ladenburg
Omid Nouripour, Member of the German Bundestag
Nils Schmid, Member of the German Bundestag
State Secretary Wolfgang Schmidt, Federal Ministry of Finance
Dr. Kirsten Scholl, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy
Prof. Dr. Margret Wintermantel, President of the German Academic Exchange Service


The Board comprises a Chair, a Deputy Chair and one other member. Board members are appointed by two-thirds majority of members of the Council. The Board represents the Foundation in and out of court through any two of its members. The Chair is the Director of the Institute, and is supported in that capacity by three Deputy Directors (Executive Board).

Prof. Dr. Volker Perthes (Chairman)
Prof. Dr. Gudrun Krämer, Berlin
Prof. Dr. Michael Kreile, Berlin

Research Advisory Board

The Research Advisory Board advises the Institute on all topical and interdisciplinary questions related to its research programme. It is appointed by the SWP Council in consultation with the Executive Board.

President: Prof. Dr. Christopher Daase, Johann Wolfgang Goethe University Frankfurt am Main

Prof. Dr. Ummu Salma Bava, Jawaharlal Nehru University New Delhi

Prof. Dr. Simon Bulmer, University of Sheffield

Prof. Dr. Anna Geis, Helmut Schmidt University of the German Bundeswehr, Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Robin Geiß, University of Glasgow

Prof. Dr. Henning Lobin, Director of the Institute for the German Language (IDS), Mannheim

Prof. Dr. Anne Peters, Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, Heidelberg

Prof. Dr. Klaus Schlichte, University of Bremen

Prof. Dr. Silvia von Steinsdorff, Humboldt University Berlin

Prof. Dr. Markus Taube, University of Duisburg-Essen

SWP Comments

Martin Keim, Maria Pastukhova, Maike Voss, Kirsten Westphal
The Link Between Healthcare and Energy Supply

How Joined-up Thinking Can Lead to More Synergies Between the Two Policy Fields

Max Gallien, Isabelle Werenfels
Is Tunisia Really Democratising?

Progress, Resistance, and an Uncertain Outlook